Harminder S Wlj

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Refund my money

World Financial Group - Refund my money
World Financial Group - Refund my money - Image 2
i want my full refund that i paid at the time of joining WFS on 23 Dec 2023. I check the reviews so i do not want to continue now so please process the refund ASAP.
View full review
Loss:
$395

Preferred solution: Full refund

Prudencio Zlt
map-marker Berkeley, California

10 Lies and Misreps That WFGers Tell You--And Themselves

Lie/misrep #1: "WFG works for many successful people. My upline’s a doctor/engineer/[enter respected profession here], who made [enter fabulous sum here] last month!” Lie/misrep #2: "WFG is backed by Aegon Group, a Fortune 500 company." Lie/misrep #3: "We focus on sales, not recruiting. We are not a ‘pyramid scheme’. " Lie/misrep #4: "If WFG’s such as scam, why hasn’t it been shut down?" Lie/misrep #5: “You can make ‘ridiculous’ money with WFG. You’re not a ‘wage slave.’” Lie/misrep #6: “You own your own biz.” Lie/misrep #7: “Don’t judge us on ‘a few bad apples.’” Lie/misrep #8: "WFG is competitive because it offers a wide range of products from many different companies.” Lie/misrep #9: “FFIUL is the best kind of life insurance policy. It’s a ‘permanent’ policy with a cash value and a floor so ‘you’ll never lose money.’ Lie/misrep #10: “Forbes covered us.’” WFG is based on LIES. For very many of its clients and agents, WFG is--or will become--everything from a mild brief let-down to a mind-bending nightmare that wrecks everything they have: family, friendships, wealth. WFG wove its web of deception so well, the agent-victim doesn’t know he’s trapped in it until it’s too late. Not until he’s invested too much time, money, and emotions into this abusive and deeply dishonest program. By which time it’s too late--he’s made himself part of the Big Lie. Acting like a highly animated zombie, he’s in gross denial and spreads the gross dishonesty. *Harming* people and families--not helping them--is part of WFG’s DNA. How can this be? Why does WFG even exist? As Deep Throat told us: “Follow the money.” WFG makes huge coin for a privileged few. Your WFG nightmare is a *dream* for this MLM’s corporate overlords and relative handful of agents. These privileged few are: 1) WFG Corporate; 1) participating carriers, Transamerica most of all, and; 3) the top 0.5% of agents who’ve effectively locked up the pyramid peak. Many--maybe most--of these top 0.5% agents got in on the ground floor of this Multi-Level Marketing (MLM) organization in the 1990s when it was called World Marketing Alliance (WMA). For reasons I give below, these top agents can effectively pull up the ladder out of reach of newer associates. They can drop down the ladder every so often to let climb up a few folks. Just often enough to continue the sham of “opportunity for all” if only “you work hard enough.” Transamerica and WFG Corporate cash in hugely from WFG’s high-profit ultra-low overhead model. Uplines press their agents to sell very spendy fat-commission products like Transamerica’s Financial Foundation Indexed Universal Life (FFIUL) policy. Pricey products that most buyers will give up so Transamerica avoids to pay even a dime in benefits. As far as recruits, the more the merrier! WFG Corporate “ka-chings” $100 per head. A huge amount of this fee is profit. Corporate spends almost nothing on overhead, because agents do nearly all the work, which includes all the recruiting. Transamerica’s parent holding company, Dutch giant Aegon N.V. lends a hand here. It greases Congress pols’ palms to help keep legal such devices like the FFIUL, an elaborate long-game fraud. Search on “Open Secrets Insurance Companies” and you’ll see Aegon ranks well up the list of donations, giving almost a million dollars of campaign contributions to these Fed elected officials so far this year. That’s a small price for Aegon to pay to help keep legal decades-long confidence games like the FFIUL. To keep feeding the greedy WFG cash dragon with fresh green, uplines must push their agents to aggressively recruit, and sell harmful products to, everyone possible, even people near and dear to them. As such, WFG is deeply, deflective, deceptive, dishonest, and damaging. Its dishonesty flows all the way down from the top, from the corporate level, which instructs its agents to hide important information. Let’s look under WFG’s hood. Let’s take apart some of the more common lies and misrepresentations that WFGers tell us and themselves. Let’s discuss how YOU can protect yourself from this profoundly unhealthy parasitic organization. A company that, like a pathogenic virus, shows us how to feed the selfish devils of our natures and suppress our better angels, and to teach us how to replicate the same Big Lie into other people. A company that infects and harms many thousands of victims for the crass enrichment of a select soulless few. Lie/misrep #1: "WFG works for many successful people. My upline’s a CPA/engineer/[enter respected profession here], who made [enter fabulous income here] last month!” Reality: It’s very common for MLM agents to wildly exaggerate their earnings and other professions, even outright lie about them. They justify their deception by telling themselves that the end justifies the means. To “fake it till they make it.” It’s common for agents to show spreadsheets and PowerPoint slides showing their earnings. Ask to see their actual paychecks and bank statements. Alas, some uplines have even doctored those sources so even these “direct” docs fail to offer ironclad guarantees the upline made what he or she claims. Look for other telltale signs. How well does the upline dress? Does she wear real or costume jewelry? Does that “$250k/year” upline drive a $10k car? It’s possible the costume jewelry and budget car is her choice. But that’s highly unlikely. It’s vitally important to project a successful image to succeed in sales. So if the upline really does earn well, she’ll likely be driving a Lexus, Benz, or other status-mobile as a necessary cost of doing biz. Sometimes the upline will claim a respectable title in a high-earning career, e.g. a doctor, engineer, or CPA. Comments you read here in PissedConsumer, Ripoff Report, Reddit, and elsewhere, discuss accounts of people who claim to come from a given profession, but who fail to pop up in searches. Or they show up, but they only attended college or university for the given profession but never worked in that profession. Did they even graduate in their stated profession? Bottom line: Take NOTHING these people tell you on faith. Verify ALL you can. Lie/misrep #2: "WFG is backed by Aegon Group, a Fortune 500 company." Reality: Official public information on this relationship is sorely lacking, almost non-existent. You get conflicting information on it from various corporate employees. Bottom line: We simply don’t know for sure WFG’s current status vis-a-vis Aegon. What’s clear is that WFG largely disappeared from Aegon’s official financial reports in 2007. Even if Aegon does own WFG, it isolated itself from WFG’s bad behavior. Indeed by definition, WFG Corporate largely isolated itself from the rampant dodgy dealings and outright fraud among its 53,000+ agents. Because they are independent contractors, these agents must take the legal burden for their own actions and conduct. Check out the 28 March 2016 review in this site “Aegon/Transamerica DOESN'T own WFG after all?!” to read more on why WFGer’s proud claims that “Aegon backs WFG” are meaningless at best, and possibly wrong. When WFG runs into financial, regulatory, and legal troubles, you can’t assume Aegon will step in and bail out this deeply troubled little MLM. Lie/misrep #3: "We focus on sales, not recruiting. We are not a ‘pyramid scheme’. " Reality: WFG Corporate doesn’t tell agents to recruit more than sell. But the low-repeat sales of high-commission life insurance and retirement products like the FFIUL and variable annuities pretty uch force you to recruit way more than you sell. Thus YOU will personally violate pyramid scheme laws. The US Government's Federal Trade Commission (FTC) makes clear what’s a pyramid scheme: "Pyramid schemes ... promise consumers or investors large profits based primarily on recruiting others to join their program... we bring cases against pyramid schemes under the FTC Act." You can read the full text at www dot ftc dot gov/public-statements/1998/05/pyramid-schemes WFG Corporate’s guideline of “3 sales and 3 recruits in 30 days” (“3/3/30”) keeps the official guideline within legal limits. But the open secret among agents is that, given the low-repeat sales of life insurance and financial retirement products like annuities, agents must RECRUIT OR DIE. Life insurance is not a low-cost consumable like soaps or face creams. As my recruiter wrote to me: “how much can you sell?!” As such, it’s only a matter of time WFG’s contractors will firmly cross that sell/recruit borderline--and document their overwhelming recruitment focus in emails and web posts--to firmly establish a pyramid scheme pattern. Then the Fed and State regulators can “WHOOOSH” in. If you want to read more on this, check out the 16 May 2016 review in this site “Will WFG Die? Dissect this Evidence. Do your Homework. Decide for Yourself.” Lie/misrep #4: "If WFG’s such a scam, why hasn’t it been shut down?" Reality: Again, it’s only a matter of time before we see more formal action against WFG and/or some of its agents, which could result in prosecutions and shutdown. Sooner or later, the regulators and the courts will catch up to them once their collective malfeasance rises enough to grab the authorities’ attention. Starting in 2007, lawyers and regulators have had their hands full with biz titans like Lehman Bros, Enron, and Arthur Andersen, all of which fell from grace due to massive fraud and systematic gross wrongdoing. Recently Goldman Sachs agreed to pay $5B to investors to whom GS admitted it deliberately sold shoddy investments to clients. Let’s not forget bad behavior from Transamerica, the carrier that issues the Financial Foundation Indexed Universal Life (FFIUL) policy, WFG’s flagship insurance product. Google “Feller vs Transamerica” You’ll read about a major class-action suit just launched against that insurer. Thousands of Transamerica xUL policyholders will have, or already had, to cough up massive premiums or lose their policies. Even if a company’s very big and been around a long time, it can still offer you a poor and even harmful deal and even act fraudulently. Lie/misrep #5: “You can make ‘ridiculous’ money with WFG. You’re not a ‘wage slave.’” Reality: Yes, and you can become President of the United States, Prime Minister of Canada, and be the first person to walk on Mars. While anything’s *possible* the way the WFG pyramid is set up makes it virtually impossible for you to earn a living at this business. Even worse, it just about requires you to sell loads of inferior and even very harmful products, especially Transamerica’s FFIUL policy. You have to ask yourself: Is the money worth deceiving and ripping off hundreds, thousands, of people? Is the money worth the fact you knowingly deceive and rip off even *one* person? How much are you willing to violate your ethics and morals, to knowingly spread bad karma? Let’s look at this in more detail. Search for “WFG’s Compensation & Promotion Guidelines Squarespace.” That 8-page PDF will pop up for you. Go to page 5. In the “Compensation Guidelines” chart, you see that WFG starts out its new Associates at, in effect, a pathetically low 25% of the commission on your sales. Most Independent Marketing Orgs (IMOs) pay their agents 70--80% of commission from their first day. That’s a greater percentage than what even WFG’s Senior Marketing Directors make. In that same chart, see where WFG awards more points for “WRL” products? “WRL” stands for Western Reserve Life Assurance Co. of Ohio, which merged into--you guessed it!--Transamerica. WFG wants to project its independent “we offer many products from many carriers” image. The WRL label helps hide the fact that WFG heavily favors Transamerica and esp its fat-commission product, the FFIUL. WFG is, above all, a recruiting machine and a sales machine for Transamerica's FFIUL. OK, let’s say you don’t want to flog “WRL” products like the FFIUL? No problem right? You can just work harder to sell the other products, right? But what if your upline thinks you’re not being “coachable” enough? In those same WFG Guidelines, on page 8, you find these: Footnote 2: Promotion requires approval of direct upline *** Footnote 3: Promotion requires approval of direct *** and CEO MD Footnote 12: Meeting the minimum requirements does not guarantee inclusion in the Base shop Pool. This means *even if you meet the sales and recruiting goals to move up* your upline can block your progress. WFG makes it clear that, regardless of its promises that you “own your own biz” and have “freedom of carrier/product choice,” you’re forced to play ball with your upline to move up to real money--which almost certainly means you have to recruit, recruit, recruit, and sell loads of the very expensive and very risky FFIUL. It’s small wonder I’ve seen agents push the FFIUL at pie-in-the-sky 8% average rates of return illustrations onto lots of people who can’t really afford it. In their later years as their premiums surge higher, these will force them to GIVE UP THE FFIUL and LOSE EVERYTHING. Lie/misrep #6: “You own your own biz.” Reality: WFG itself makes clear, in several places, that this favorite WFG selling point is a myth. You can find the hard truth spelled out in your Associate Membership Agreement (AMA) and in WFG's Compensation and Promotion Guidelines. You most definitely *don’t* “own your own biz.” You are not master or mistress of your WFG destiny. First, see here on page 8 of that AMA: “B. ...The Associate acknowledges that WFG owns all rights in and to the following: ...(ii) the identities of and all lists of the members comprising WFG; and (iii) the identities of and all lists of the Customers of WFG...which constitute **property owned solely by WFG.** Associate agrees that Associate shall have no proprietary interest in, or ownership of, any Customers, other associates of WFG including Downline Associates, or Products and Services. **WFG shall have exclusive proprietary interest in, or ownership, of all Customers, and contractual relationships with other associates and the Product Providers**.” Read this for yourself. Search for the 22-page AMA-US.pdf. You’ll find it at mywfg dot com. Even some veteran WFGers are shocked to learn that, when they leave the MLM, they can’t take their Book of Business with them. Second, see WFG’s Compensation & Promotion Guidelines. These make clear that, even if you meet sales and recruiting goals, you get no guarantee you'll advance up the WFG pyramid. See Lie/misrep #5 above for more info on that. Sounds more like your J.O.B. all the time doesn't it? Except worse. All you are is a contractor who pays for everything that is usually paid for by traditional companies (training, books, travel etc) meanwhile WFG restricts you from performing in a truly independent manner. It’s no big shock then we see an even *bigger* earnings gap in WFG than at your J.O.B. Last year (27 Aug 2015) HuffPo ran a piece decrying the “outrageous” 204-to-1 pay gap between the CEO and rank-and-file workers, with 4 CEOs at the top of the list earning more than 1,000-to-1. We can put WFG right up there with the worst of them with its staggering *1,321*-to-1 gap. (3m ring earners compared to the 99.7% who earn, on average, $2,272/yr.) So much for WFG giving you the fair shot at the big bucks your J.O.B. kept you from. Lie/misrep #7: “Don’t judge WFG by ‘a few bad apples.’” Reality: WFG’s policies set the stage for widespread deceptive and unethical behavior that spreads WAY beyond “a few bad apples.” This MLM pushes its contractors to *restrict information* to its prospects, both to customers and to fellow associates. This guidance comes straight out of WFG’s System Manual: “Avoid the Scenario of Disaster. *If you start answering too many questions*, it takes the edge off the prospect’s curiosity.” This is, of course, absurd advice. Honest people will agree: You WANT to satisfy a prospect’s curiosity. That’s a GOOD thing. How can you make rational decisions about products and work opportunities if you don’t get solid info on them? My experience showed me how deeply WFG deceives its clients and agents. My recruiter did everything he could--and succeeded--to keep me from reading the FFIUL contract. He *owns* this policy and locked himself into really high fees and onerous surrender charges that extend out 15 years. Yet couldn’t answer basic questions like “what are the guaranteed maximum fees?” He owned this policy and obviously had every right to let me read it. Yet he felt he needed to call his upline, who advised him against letting me read it, giving empty even laughable excuses such as “we just don’t do that” and “we’re not sure that’s legal.” I saw more of the same deflective and deceptive behavior in WFG workshops. My upline expected to promote the same in Business Presentation Meetings (BPMs). WFG’s compensation structure promotes unethical and even illegal behavior in other ways too. It’s true this MLM doesn’t directly pay you to recruit. Instead it simply awards points to you to recruit. You MUST recruit to move up the pyramid, especially since WFG’s main products, the FFIUL and variable annuities, are usually not repeat sells. As my recruiter wrote to me: “You have to see yourself as a “builder” [“builder” is code for “recruiter”] rather than a seller. How much can you sell?!” To make real money and to advance you have to recruit enough that you will almost certainly run afoul of pyramid scheme laws. Lie/misrep #8: "WFG is competitive because it offers a wide range of products from many different companies.” Reality: WFGers love to tell us “we offer many different life insurance products from many companies.” In fact, WFG exists mainly to recruit and to distribute Transamerica’s very pricey very risky fat-commission FFIUL. WFG wrote the Compensation and Promotion Guidelines to push agents to sell that dangerous paycheck-sucking policy. The FFIUL is especially risky in later life when your Cost of Insurance (COI) rates--aka Mortality Charges--soar through the roof. Check Lie/misrep #5 above for more info on WFG’s C&P Guidelines. So what’s so bad about the FFIUL anyway? That brings us to: Lie/misrep #9: “FFIUL is the best kind of life insurance policy. It’s a ‘permanent’ policy with a cash value and a floor so ‘you’ll never lose money.’” Reality: For the damning numbers on this “assurance” abomination, please check out the 30 April 2016 review “Plan to live long? See the MATH here! Your FFIUL--WFG’s “top” product--will LAPSE and leave you NADA.” This explains why Transamerica’s FFIUL--at least as configured and sold through WFG--is a truly terrible deal you need to *run* from. The FFIUL is a super-expensive policy that, if you live a reasonably long life, is virtually guaranteed to FAIL, leaving your heirs NOTHING after you spend decades pumping hundreds of thousands of dollars into it. This, because skyrocketing late-life Cost of Insurance (COI) charges *will* force you to give up the FFIUL. It’s as simple and awful as that. The FFIUL is not a “permanent” life policy as much as it is an auto-renewing 1-year term life policy. It’s “permanent” only until you can no longer afford to pay the astronomical late-life charges. Lie/misrep #10: “Forbes Magazine covered us.” Reality: WFG appeared in Forbes only in *advertisements* so of course gives a rosy picture of the company. What else would you expect? It amazes me any WFGer would embarrass themselves and WFG to tell such a weak and easily verifiable lie. Yet many do. Five lessons from my WFG experience: 1) Take NOTHING a WFGer tells you on faith. Verify everything with full documentation and your own independent research. 2) Read the fine print before you sign anything. Every word of it! 3) Before you sign anything or give WFG a dime, make sure your agent gives you FULL DOCUMENTATION to take home and thoroughly read over. If you consider any policy, especially a policy with many moving parts like the FFIUL, demand a FULL QUOTE on your FFIUL *including all the contract terms and conditions and Policy Data.* 4) Give it to an independent qualified fee-ONLY (not just “fee-BASED”) Financial Advisor who does NOT sell life insurance.If your agent won’t give you this full documentation, WALK AWAY. 5) Your best bet: Never start with this deeply dishonest organization!
View full review
Cons:
  • Pushes agents to break laws
  • Very risky insurance policies
  • Deceptive information
Reason of review:
Bad quality
84 comments
Ja Tst

You are so full of shi# with this sore looser whiney *** excuse of an expose’! Nothing that you stated is fact and merely the rantings of someone who couldn’t *** the hard work it takes to win in WFG. Which pays off handsomely for those who get to work without excuse and take their destiny and business into their own hands!

Guest

It makes no sense for you to state the wfg suckers people into policies they cannot afford. If you were even remotely smart you would realize that brokers get paid on policy’s that actually stick around not on policy’s that end up being canceled later on.

It would result in a chargeback to the agent. I think you are probably someone who thought you could get paid for doing nothing and when that didn’t pan out you wanted to bash wfg.

If wfg was a scam they would absolutely be shut down and faster than any other company because they deal with people and their finances. Get educated before you speak.

Alexcia Kcg

Please give examples on specific programs and services (and list from which companies that are affiliated with WFG) that did not work or were faulty for their clients. Thanks!

Guest

I just recently had the hardcore sizzle sales call. Guaranty, Huge commissions, Doctors and CPA's give up their practices to make a year's income a month.

The more you bring in the more you make. High commissions on an SP 500 index RED FLAG. Guarantee 10% a year return on your money RED FLAG. CEO makes SIX Million a year and spreads the wealth LOL.

They have figured a way to cheat the testing system. Plus endless stories of greed.

Only at the very end did they even mention the company, All very Fishy. I passed on this shady dealing deceptive marketing and recruiting.

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-1492171

You either have what it takes - or you don’t. In life, what you reap, so shall you sow.

I have personally seen not only what it takes, and that requires personal change, but my friend is making a great income part time.

The business structure works, and it is not a “scam”. It’s just not for everyone.

Guest

Hi guys. I'd just like to let you know that you really have no idea what you're talking about when you hate on WFG.

I'm in Andre Genovesi's Baseshop and Kash Rastan's Super Team. Kash Rastan used to be an engineer, was brought into WFG about 10 years ago and now makes just under $2 million a year. Andre Genovesi used to be a famous skateboarder (look him up), has been in the business for almost three years and is just about to have made $250k in the past rolling 12 months. A couple of years ago, Andre helped a family that had $495k in mortgage, $48,439.72 in credit card debt, no emergency fund, no retirement plan, and no insurance.

Their net income every month was -$287/month. Andre got them a debt settlement and now, after less than two years, are debt free and saving money aggressively. I don't know what all of y'all are talking about; WFG saves lives.And by the way, the cost of insurance (COI) for an Indexed Universal Life insurance policy is constant.

It doesn't change from year to year. Once the policy is set up, then the COI never changes.

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-1485973

Zack...have you seen so many people bragging about how much money they supposedly make..to the penny...HEY Zack...I make 4.6 million last month..i am here saying I sell my underwear on Craigslist and it is fantastic.My mom sells her underwear and has made 5.7 million in the last 2 months..not bad for somebody on social security?I haven't seen any people needing to bring fantasy #'s which these are without a shread of proof like maybe the IRS return from last year?Nope comes down here and blabs fictional #'s which if we believe the OFFICIAL WFG #'S for the 2015 year don't come close to this unicorn twilight zone scenario.Know why the few at the top make money because those at the bottom make none.You talked about a couple at the top of the earning circle..why didn't you publish your full name and IRS return?And if you think that WFG is special because they use a tool for a debt settlement instead of bankrupcy..come on..every bank that has a financial advisor or planning can help you with that..heck even the credit card will work with you.And to top it off now Zack here thinks that WFG SAVES LIVES...please....

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-1486473

Thanks for sharing Zach. You are absolutely right.

We saw one of our own family’s taken care of before and after her passing. You know the truth. Just keep doing a great job. People like those posting this awful review just need prayer.

Keep doing what you know is right. You are helping families improve their lives.

God Bless You. Jesus loves you too.

Alexcia Kcg
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-1486473

I’m not at the top of the company.. I’m 18months in..

ive doubled my previous salary with helping people figure out their retirement..and ive protected over $500,000+ dollars from being lost through their 401k plans... Idk what the issue is.

But my clients are happy, we have a great relationship, and I think people who show hate towards the company were scarred by unprofessional people, not the company, not the programs, not the services. It’s sad but it is what it is.

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-1485973

Andre Genovesi scammed much family out of $20,000 my misrepresenting the IUL. Not a fan.

View more comments (83)
Amanda M Mcf

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Need immediate assistance

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Okay y'all did a background check on me about 6 months ago and it will come back as something was being in review I went through the DA's office and I made it where I could get my my records from them so I can show you all that I have nothing on my record and I know there's many of people that's got worse way worse records than what I do and they are still with wfg and I intend on making this right because y'all owe me $150 because y'all want to be all wanting to tell me that I have to get that $150 to y'all until before I can get my agent code well when my background came back after I did all the second background it came back clear and y'all still haven't given me my my agent code back and I don't understand what's taking so long I done tried to call aegon I done tried to call everybody and they keep telling me to call y'all so if you can give me a call back my number is 409-238-**** and my name is Amanda Marshall thank you very much have a good day
View full review
Loss:
$150
Cons:
  • Are screwing people

Preferred solution: Full refund

1 comment
Guest

Keep using y’all and you’ll never get a job.

Kurtiss Mrk

Former Agent Perspective

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Original review Apr 22, 2023
A little backstory about me is that I was an agent of WFG for about 3-4 years and was able to see a lot of what WFG had to offer and was about. Although I left with a bit of a sour taste in my mouth, here is my best attempt at a non-bias review. Products: The focus when it comes to products at WFG is definitely the IUL and term with living benefits while some people dabble in the FIA and securities aspect. The IUL is fantastic and although I'm not with WFG anymore, I'm still an agent and love the product IF done properly. Now the risk you take with WFG selling you an IUL is that they recruit so many people that the field sort of gets diluted in a sense where you have more newbies than actual professionals who know how to structure it properly. I don't know the turnover but I'm assuming it's big. Now there are some people who do know how to properly structure an IUL but I'm just saying there's a good amount who don't. And that can be due to lack of knowledge or taking advantage of you and going for the biggest commission possible which I know some do. You want the agent to set it up where they give themselves the lowest commission possible. Bottom line is IUL and FIA imo is definitely a step in the right direction when you compare it to accounts like 401k, ROTH, etc. BUT majority, if not all, agents don't know that there's actually a better way to structure an IUL than they're trained. And it's not their fault because the financial industry as a whole doesn't even know about this method. So the way they do it (if done right) isn't necessarily bad but there's just a better way to even maximize your finances. The companies they go through for IUL are not the best no matter what they say. You must know that. They'll say they're the best or talk it up like they are but they're not! Everybody there is trained to believe that the platinum providers are the best in the game which is simply not true. Here's a little story. In my last few months with them I took the blindfolds off and started to research the best companies for IUL. What I found through a few different sources is that the main two WFG use, Nationwide and Pacific Life, were lucky to crack the top 10 in rankings industry wide. Companies such as Allianz, F&G, NLG, Minnesota life, Ameritas were all better. Now here's the kicker. I looked on our site to see all the companies we are partnered with and turns out we're partnered with Allianz and Minnesota life! I don't quite remember but maybe NLG, Ameritas and F&G. Don't quote me on those last three. So now I asked okay well if these sources all agreed saying Allianz and Minnesota Life are much better than nationwide and pacific life, and we offer Allianz and Minnesota Life, then why aren't we pushing those instead? The answer? Nationwide and Pacific Life were platinum providers meaning we got higher commission when selling their products...So that discovery was the last straw for me as it was obvious we weren't being trained in doing everything in our power to do what's best for the client. And I know this is company wide because I've been on several teams, seen other team trainings, been to conventions and all of them preached the same thing. Now my assumption for this is because maybe they think "well we're still putting the client in a better position than they're in now so it's alright to get at least a little more money". So maybe like a win win? who knows the reasoning. But the way I look at it is yes we're putting them in a better position but what's better than better? Best. The enemy of great is good. So why stop there? The answer is because their pockets and promotion requirements would hurt and take longer if they sold those two products instead. Don't even get me started with pushing Transamerica products. They get even more money when selling those. So guess which companies you hear over and over again when they train you on products and what to sell? You guessed it. Transamerica, Nationwide, and Pacific Life. Yes they use other companies if need be but those three are their go-to's and everything else is last resort/pivot companies. The term with living benefits is good for people who strictly need the coverage because it's cheap and can provide a check if something were to happen while alive. Only downside to term is only around 1% of term policies actually pay out. So that's the risk you're taking there. But there are term policies out there that give you a return of premium at the end of your policy's term (5yr, 10yr, 25yr, etc) so you get back what you put in. So maybe WFG offers this no, but that'll be a good question to ask them. Opportunity: The main focus of WFG is "recruit recruit recruit". They'll say their focus is helping families which is true but it's half the truth if you will. Because at the basis of helping families they tell you that you need to recruit. They like to reverse engineer things (which is fine. reverse engineering is something we all should do in aspects of life to achieve goals) and the way you'll reverse engineer this is like this. So helping families. Okay how do they help families? By selling a product and/or recruit them to make money as an agent. Now there's a lot of people out there who say it's a scam. ITS NOT A SCAM. People toss that word around too loosely nowadays and even though I left WFG with a sour taste, I won't say it's a scam and anybody saying this is the type of person to look out the window instead of the mirror for all their problems. The business is simple but it's not easy. HUGE difference. it's simple because the system is proven and you just have to run the numbers as they will tell you. But running the numbers and system will take hard work, a lot of rejection, and a lot of growth mentally and emotionally. So although at presentations they talk like it's easy, its not. Prepare yourself. Honestly if you're contemplating doing it I say go for it because depending how far you take this, you can grow so much as a person. For me personally, career wise I didn't like the products or business model but I give them full credit for the mentality and growth I experienced these past 5 years or so. Just a word of caution, commission levels are about 35% starting with around 80% being the highest. There's other IMO's out there where you can start at 80% or higher commission. Just saying. So for those who aren't builders I'd suggest going elsewhere with higher commission rates but obviously do your due diligence with them first. But choose your company wisely and don't let the numbers and possibility blind you from looking at your options if you're serious about becoming an agent. So in conclusion, if you're being sold a product make sure you stand your ground, ask questions and do your research on the industry as a whole and what other options are out there. Because I'm telling you now there are better products out there but WFG just can't sell them. If you're going into the company as an agent just know it's going to be hard and you're going to get real uncomfortable if selling to family and friends isn't your thing. Sure you'll see some cases of people killing it right out the gates but know that is rare. And for those wondering why I left, the main reason was once I found out we could've been doing more and better by the client but many agents I was being trained by were opting not to, that didn't sit right with me and I needed to disassociate myself from the company as a whole. Plus it felt like I was getting thrown around from team to team like a rag doll and all these changes definitely messed with me. A couple other reasons I can't mention on here but I hope this review helps somebody out there.
View full review
Pros:
  • Personal growth
  • Learn more about money than what were taught in school
Cons:
  • Transparency

User's recommendation: Proceed with caution

Harminder S Wlj

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Refund my money

World Financial Group - Refund my money
World Financial Group - Refund my money - Image 2
i just check the review and search about the WFG so now i don't want to continue. So please refund the amount that i paid.
View full review

Preferred solution: Full refund

Anonymous
map-marker Salt Lake City, Utah

No one answer the phone

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I have technical issue and would like to reach someone but always the voice message. Nothing has changed. Very disappointed. Is there a good number (I meant a good number) that I can reach operator so the person can connect me to the right place not just a 10 minute long voice message?
View full review
Rupendra G Qya
map-marker Coppell, Texas

We are in G23 conference and don’t have good organize

Its not worthy to pay 175 dollar that is too much and its too hot outside we are waiting on line 2 hr .if there is senior tag they should mention in registration form . I m not satisfy with WFG program .its bad organizer .
View full review
Loss:
$175

Preferred solution: Full refund

Jenika Qmh

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Houston, Texas

Need immediate assistance

World Financial Group - Need immediate assistance
No one is responding My agent ID is 79JML Please I need immediate help My license is not updated and it shows failure cause cancellation of my license and the last date is showing April 30th. Please I need assistance Thank you
View full review
Sweta C Blk

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Thornhill, Ontario

Refund for the registration fee

World Financial Group - Refund for the registration fee
Hi, I am reaching out to you because I have done a huge mistake believing in WFG and asked for registration fee which I was not ready to pay but they asked my card number and the money was deducted. Please refund my money I am in really need.
View full review
Loss:
$170
Pros:
  • Investment
Cons:
  • Multi level marketing which is not possible

Preferred solution: Full refund

Anonymous
map-marker Katy, Texas

I’m still pissed. Why I can’t login to my WFGlaunc?

I was told that my name was incorrect and it got fixed. Apparently, its not since now today, Darian told me that my name is nowhere to be found. What is going on?
View full review
Mehakdeep K Dbf

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Want a refund of registration fees

My friend convinced me to take this opportunity and become member of WFG for future growth. But I didnt know she was doing it for her own benefit, she will get some kind of commission if she recruits more people. After paying $169. 50 she told me now i have to take a test and spend more money and i have to do same thing with other people and make them fool. Now i know the reality how it works and i am not interested in this. I registered on December 3, 2022 from Brampton location.I am filing this complain on December 5, 2022. Please refund me my $169.50 as my friend made me fool and took advantage of me to make her money. I am not interested in this. This totally is a scam.
View full review
Loss:
$170

Preferred solution: Full refund

manuela p Rdq

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Wfg agent debt

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Hi my agent code used to be 19WVKC. I am no longer working for WFG but I still have a debt to pay. I had done everything I can to pay this debt but I am not being helped to pay it which blows my mind. Its been 6 months and I still have not been able to pay it and move on, I am worried about my credit and dont want this to go to collections. I had been advised to pay it online but it does not work for me, I have tried several cards but it wont process and tells me to go contact customer service. I have mailed and filled out my credit card information but I was told that they dont accept those because I am no longer an agent. This is absolutely ridiculous, it should not be this hard to pay off something. Please help may this, and dont just refer me to an online payment through the wfg website, I am tired of getting that message back.
View full review

Preferred solution: I would like to settle my debt but no one is giving me a solution. It takes weeks to get a response.

Komalpreet Singh

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Very bad experience

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Actually my friend refer me to register here. I am not interested in it now and i want to cancel my registration and i want to get my money back
View full review
Loss:
$172

Preferred solution: Full refund

Anonymous

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
| map-marker Brampton, Ontario

Coustomer service

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
World Financial Group - Coustomer service
I was signed up on 1st August 2022 with wfg to become an associate and within 24 hour I was trying to contact but I did not get response from them. However, I decided that I was no longer interested and wanted to back out and be refunded my registration fee (169.50 $). I have not attended any official meeting so I ask for a refund, as it also doesn't state in the acknowledgment I have that it is non-refundable. it mentions some monthly additional fees that come with being licensed, which were not mentioned to me during my recruitment process. I am also requesting that my information be deleted and that I'm withdrawn from the company.
View full review
Loss:
$170
Pros:
  • Good business opportunity
Cons:
  • Use people for benefit

Preferred solution: Full refund

Komalpreet Singh

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Want to cancel my registration

Actually my friend refer me to register here. I am not interested in it as i have not enough time to do all that things.
View full review
Loss:
$172
Cons:
  • Very bad feedback

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Don't register here

Jacob P Vmm

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

$125 application charge refute

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Hi, A broker asked me to pay for a class/background check and I later did some research on the company and contacted many departments from WFG and trans America support. I was not able to reach help with multiple agents on the line. I would like my refund for the $125 charge that I had to pay to apply to the company. Ive gone from Sales, Licensing, and multiple other departments with no help. This is the most frustrating experience Ive had with support.
View full review
Loss:
$125
Cons:
  • Worst customer service
  • Use illegal tactics to pressure people to join
  • Refund policy

Preferred solution: Full refund

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article